Staff

NIAB EMR Management

NIAB EMR is managed on a day-to-day basis by an Executive Group headed by Managing Director David Neill.

 

Executive Assistant
Angela Chapple
E:angela.chapple@emr.ac.uk
T:+44 (0) 1732 843833

Managing Director

NIAB EMR Managing Director
David Neill
E:david.neill@emr.ac.uk

Department Leaders

Dr Mark Else
Dr Mark Else
Crop Science and Production Systems
E:mark.else@emr.ac.uk
DD:+44 (0)1732 523730
Dr Richard Harrison
Genetics, Genomics & Breeding
E:richard.harrison@emr.ac.uk
DD:+44 (0)1732 523747
Prof Xiangming Xu
Pest & Pathogen Ecology
E:xiangming.xu@emr.ac.uk
DD:+44 (0)1732 523753
Science Project Leaders
Dr Andrew Armitage
Genetics, Genomics & Breeding
Bioinformatician
E-mail:andrew.armitage@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523734
Dr Angela Berrie
Pest & Pathogen Ecology
Research Leader, Plant Pathologist
E-mail:angela.berrie@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44(0)1732 523756
Prof. Gerard Bishop
Crop Science and Production Systems
Principal Research Scientist, Molecular Biologist
E-mail:gerard.bishop@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523742
Dr Kerry Burton
Crop Science and Production Systems
Principal Research Scientist, Biochemist and Microbiologist
E-mail:kerry.burton@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523760
Dr Helen Cockerton
Genetics, Genomics & Breeding
Molecular Breeder
E-mail:helen.cockerton@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523750
Prof. Jerry Cross
Head of Science Group
E-mail:jerry.cross@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523748
Mike Davies
Crop Science and Production Systems
Plant Physiology/Soil Science/Ecology
E-mail:mike.davies@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523731
Dr Edward Dobbs
Crop Science and Production Systems
Molecular Biologist
E-mail:edward.dobbs@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523723
Paul Dracott
Crop Science and Production Systems
E-mail:Paul.Dracott@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1233 850726
Felicidad Fernández
Genetics, Genomics & Breeding
Research Leader, Plant Breeder and Molecular Geneticist
E-mail:felicidad.fernandez@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523739
Dr Jean Fitzgerald
Pest & Pathogen Ecology
Research Leader, Entomologist
E-mail:jean.fitzgerald@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523758
Dr Michelle Fountain
Pest & Pathogen Ecology
Deputy Head of Pest and Pathogen Ecology, Fruit Pest Entomologist, Fruit Pollination Ecologist
E-mail:michelle.fountain@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523749
Dr Bethany Greenfield
Genetics Genomics & Breeding
Molecular Biologist/Microbiologist
E-mail:bethany.greenfield@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44(0)1732523750
Dr Chantelle Jay
Pest & Pathogen Ecology
Entomologist and NERC Horticulture KE Fellow
E-mail:chantelle.jay@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523751
Abi Johnson
Genetics Genomics & Breeding
Project Leader, Strawberry Breeder
E-mail:abi.johnson@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523746
Dr Julien Lecourt
Crop Science and Production Systems
Tree Physiologist
E-mail:Julien.Lecourt@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523728
Dr Bo Li
Genetics, Genomics & Breeding
Bioinformatician- Image Analysis Specialist
E-mail:bo.li@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523743
Dr Charlotte Nellist
Genetics Genomics & Breeding
Molecular Plant Pathologist
E-mail:Charlotte.Nellist@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:01732 523750
Prof. Ralph Noble
Crop Science and Production Systems
Principal Research Scientist, Applied Microbiologist
E-mail:ralph.noble@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523760
Dr Robert Saville
Pest & Pathogen Ecology
Research Leader, Plant Pathologist
E-mail:robert.saville@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44(0)1732 523723
Dr David Simpson
Genetics Genomics & Breeding
Strawberry Breeder
E-mail:david.simpson@emr.ac.uk or david.simpson@eastmallingservices.co.uk
Direct Dial:+44(0)1732 523744
Dr Maria Sobczyk
Genetics Genomics & Breeding
Bioinformatician/Population Geneticist
E-mail:maria.sobczyk@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:01732 523792
Dr Eleftheria Stavridou
Crop Science and Production Systems
Research Leader, Plant Molecular Nutritionist
E-mail:eleftheria.stavridou@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523728
Dr Emma Tilston
Crop Science and Production Systems
Soil/Rhizosphere Scientist
E-mail:emma.tilston@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523737
Dr Robert Vickerstaff
Genetics, Genomics & Breeding
Bioinformatician
E-mail:robert.vickerstaff@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523743
Adam Whitehouse
Genetics Genomics & Breeding
Project Leader, Strawberry Breeder
E-mail:adam.whitehouse@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44(0)1732 523746
Dr Charles Whitfield
Pest & Pathogen Ecology
Crop Protection Engineer
E-mail:Charles.whitfield@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523729
Fiona Wilson
Genetics Genomics & Breeding
Research Scientist
E-mail:fiona.wilson@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523750
Science Research Staff
Dr Solomon Agyare
Genetics, Genomics & Breeding
E-mail:solomon.agyare@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523754
Carlos Angulo Iruzubieta
Crop Science and Production Systems
Scientific Assistant
E-mail:carlos.angulo@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523735
Dr Helen Bates
Genetics Genomics & Breeding
Molecular Biologist
E-mail:helen.bates@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523750
Julie Bennet
Crop Science and Production Systems
Senior Scientific Assistant, Virology
E-mail:julie.bennet@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523754
Dr Philip Brain
Genetics Genomics & Breeding
Principal statistician
E-mail:philip.brain@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523712
Madeleine Cannon
Pest & Pathogen Ecology
Research Assistant
E-mail:madeleine.cannon@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:01732 523752
Dr Greg Deakin
Crop Science and Production Systems
Bioinformatician
E-mail:greg.deakin@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523757
Alvaro Delgado
Pest & Pathogen Ecology
Research Assistant
E-mail:alvaro.delgado@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:01732 523752
Andreja Dobrovin-Pennington
Crop Science and Production Systems
Senior Scientific Assistant
E-mail:andreja.dobrovin-pennington@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523760
Christina Faulder
Pest & Pathogen Ecology
Research Entomologist (Assistant)
E-mail:Christina.Faulder@emr.ac.uk
Telephone:01732 843833
Alice Hall
Crop Science and Production Systems
Technical Research Assistant
E-mail:Alice.Hall@emr.ac.uk
Telephone:01732 843833
Adrian Harris
Pest & Pathogen Ecology
Principal Scientific Assistant, Entomology
E-mail:adrian.harris@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523752
Katie Hopson
Genetics, Genomics & Breeding
Assistant Plant Breeder
E-mail:Katie.Hopson@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:01732 523746
Clare Hopson
Crop Science and Production Systems
Senior Scientific Assistant
E-mail:clare.hopson@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523737
Amanda Karlstrom
Genetics Genomics & Breeding
Assistant Plant Breeder / Geneticist
E-mail:amanda.karlstrom@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0) 1732 523750
Jennifer Kingsnorth
Pest & Pathogen Ecology
Scientific Assistant/Pathology
E-mail:Jennifer.Kingsnorth@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523757
Judit Linka
Pest & Pathogen Ecology
Scientific Assistant
E-mail:judit.linka@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:01732 523734
Marzena Lipska
Genetics Genomics & Breeding
Scientific Assistant
E-mail:marzena.lipska@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523740
Andy Passey
Genetics Genomics & Breeding
Scientific Assistant, Strawberry Breeding
E-mail:andy.passey@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523746
Joyce Robinson
Pest & Pathogen Ecology
Senior Scientific Assistant
E-mail:joyce.robinson@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523751
Dr Louisa Robinson-Boyer
Pest & Pathogen Ecology
Post - doctoral researcher
E-mail:louisa.robinson-boyer@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523751
June Taylor
Crop Science and Production Systems
Principal Scientific Assistant, Biochemistry, Crop/Fruit/Environmental Physiology
E-mail:june.taylor@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523735 or 523732
PhD Students
Thomas Adams
Genetics Genomics & Breeding
PhD student
E-mail:Thomas.Adams@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44(0)1732 523750
Andrew Barclay
Pest & Pathogen Ecology
PhD student
E-mail:Andrew.Barclay@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523xxx
Emma Cascant-Lopez
Genetics Genomics & Breeding
PhD student
E-mail:Emma.Cascant-Lopez@emr.ac.uk
Rong Fan
Genetics Genomics & Breeding
PhD student
E-mail:Rong.Fan@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44(0)1732 523728
Wei Feng
Genetics, Genomics & Breeding
PhD student
E-mail:Wei.Feng@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523757
Antonio Gomez Cortecero
Genetics Genomics & Breeding
PhD student
E-mail:antonio.gomez@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523734
Dylan Hodgkiss
Pest & Pathogen Ecology
E-mail:Dylan.hodgkiss@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523xxx
Michelle Hulin
Genetics Genomics & Breeding
PhD student
E-mail:michelle.hulin@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523734
Amy Lowe
Crop Science and Production Systems
PhD student
E-mail:Amy.Lowe@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523738
Calum Martin
Pest & Pathogen Ecology
PhD student
E-mail:Calum.Martin@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523xxx
Tom Passey
Pest & Pathogen Ecology
PhD student
E-mail:tom.passey@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523754
Ben Pennington
Crop Science and Production Systems
PhD student
E-mail:Benjamin.Pennington@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523738
Bethan Shaw
Pest & Pathogen Ecology
Entomologist
E-mail:bethan.shaw@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523752
Support Staff
Sue Arnold
NIAB EMR Company Secretary & Finance Director
E-mail:susan.arnold@niab.com
Telephone:T: +44 (0)1223 342304
Tina Baker
Human Resources
Human Resources Administrator
E-mail:Tina.Baker@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:01732 523791
Roger Carline
NIAB Commercial Director
E-mail:roger.carline@em-s.co.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523797
Graham Caspell
Farm & Horticultural Services
Head of Farm and Horticultural Services
E-mail:graham.caspell@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523762
Prof. Jerry Cross
Head of Science Group
E-mail:jerry.cross@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523748
Antonio Llorente Garcia
Assistant Product Manager
E-mail:antonio.llorente@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)1732 523762
David Neill
NIAB EMR Managing Director
E-mail:david.neill@emr.ac.uk
Ross Newham
Site Management
Operations Director
E-mail:ross.newham@emr.ac.uk
Direct Dial:+44 (0)7799 690911

In This Section

Key Contacts

NIAB EMR Managing Director

NIAB EMR Company Secretary & Finance Director

NIAB Commercial Director

Operations Director

Head of Science Group